Ray L’Heureux
Chairman & President

Joan Husted
Vice President

Board of Directors

  • Ray L’Heureux, EIH Chairman & President; Former Assistant Superintendent of Hawaii DOE
  • Joan Lee Husted, EIH Vice President Commissioner on The Education Commission of the States; Retired Executive Director and Chief Negotiator of the Hawaii State Teachers Association; Recipient of the 2015 Lifetime Achievement in Labor award from the national Labor Employment Relations Association; Has a Leadership award from the YWCA; Former Chair of the State Commission on the Status of Women; Negotiated fifteen collective bargaining agreements for teachers in Hawaii
  • Marsha Alegre, Retired after 38 years as a teacher and an administrator in Hawaii public schools; Principal of Washington Middle School lead the transition from a traditional intermediate school to an official middle school; a Cohort Mentor Principal 1989 – 2003; a mentor and coach in the Department of Education New Principal Academy 2003 – 2014; Faculty Supervisor of student teachers University of Phoenix 2004 – 2013
  • Brendan Burns, Aina Haina Elementary School principal; 2008 National Blue Ribbon School and International Baccalaureate Primary Years Program World School; 2017 finalist for the Masayuki Tokioka Excellence in School Leadership Award
  • Harry Davis, University of Hawaii Natural Science & Chemistry professor; Past UH Faculty Senate chair; 2001 Recipient of UH Board of Regents Medal for Excellence in Teaching; Parent of two public school graduates
  • Joan Lewis, Kapolei High School teacher; Hawaii State Teachers Association vice president; 2013 NEA Foundation’s Excellence in Teaching Award and 2014 NEA Foundation Global Fellow; Foster parent for eight years whose children attended public schools
  • Roberta Mayor, EIH Immediate Past-President; Retired teacher and public school principal who served 24 years in the Hawaii DOE and 17 years in California including as a Superintendent of Oakland Unified School District
  • RandiAnn Porras-Tang, President of Hawaii Association of Secondary School Administrators; Retired principal of Waialua Middle and High Schools
  • Elaine Simon, Director of DevOps, Hawaii Technology Academy
  • Sienna Smoot, Ed. S, Waialua High & Intermediate School teacher
  • Stephen Terstegge, Member of Governor’s ESSA team; Hawaii Technology Academy Governing Board; Former Chair Castle High School Community Council; Former member of Castle Complex Community Council; Parent of two public school children
  • Penelope Tom, Executive Director of the Hawaii Association of Secondary School Administrators; Retired Kaimuki High School principal

EIH Honorary Members

  • Benjamin Cayetano, Former Hawaii governor

EIH Senior Advisory Council

  • Duwayne Abe, Principal of Salt Lake Elementary School; 2014 State Principal of the Year
  • Evangeline Casinas, Salt Lake Elementary School vice principal; 2009 National Board certified teacher; parent of three children in public school
  • Dale Castro, Mililani Waena Elementary School principal; Former State Director of Curriculum and Instruction (Special Education, School Renewal & Redesign, and Focus Schools); Nationally Certified NAESP Principal Mentor; Parent of child who attends public school
  • Bebi Davis, STEM Resource Teacher; 2005 National Milken Education Award Winner; 2009 Hawaii State Teacher of the Year; 2009 Yale University Educator Award
  • Aloha Dayton, Personnel Specialist in DOE Office of Human Resources; Formerly principal of Leilehua High School and Waialua Intermediate and High School, High School Principal of the Year in 2011
  • Tom Gerrish, Former Director of Enterprise Services Branch of Hawaii DOE
  • Michael Harano, Washington Middle School principal; 2017 State Secondary School Principal of the Year; Middle School Principals Forum chairperson; 2010 Hawaii State National Distinguished Principal; Washington Middle School 1st AVID National Demonstration School in Hawaii; Parent of three public school graduates
  • Jan Iwase, Daniel K. Inouye Elementary School principal; 2013 Central District Principal of the Year
  • Sachiko Matsushita, Student Services Coordinator, Liholiho Elementary School
  • Naomi Matsuzaki, Windward Complex Area Personnel Specialist; Retired principal of Kahaluu Elementary; 2013 Hawaii National Distinguished Principal and Tokioka Excellence in School Leadership award nominee; Currently NAESP Hawaii Executive Director
  • Derek Minakami, Kaneohe Elementary School principal; 2001 State Teacher of the Year, 2001 National Teacher of the Year finalist; parent of two children in public schools
  • Denise Murai, Parent advocate; Former Parent Community Networking Center Facilitator; Nationally certified facilitator of Parent Project & Loving Solutions parenting program; Parent of three public school graduates
  • Fred Murphy, Mililani High School principal; Hawaii High School Principals Forum chairperson
  • Steve Nakasato, Pearl Ridge Elementary School principal; Former Curriculum, Instruction and Student Support state director; 2007 Central Oahu District Principal of the Year; Ed.D. Professional Educational Practice; Parent of three children in public schools
  • Rick Paul, Principal of Hana High and Elementary School; Former DOE Committee on Weights member
  • Art Souza, Complex Area superintendent for Honokaa-Kealakehe-Kohala-Konawaena Area; Former Honokaa High and Waikoloa Elementary Schools principal
  • Candy Suiso, Waianae High School teacher; Milken National Educator award winner; Founder of Searider Productions
  • Roger Takabayashi, Retired teacher from Niu Valley Middle, Dole Middle, and Farrington High; HSTA President from 2003 to 2009; present member of Charter School Commission
  • Lisa-Anne Tsuruda, I’olani School teacher; Former Mililani High School teacher; 2009 National Milken Education Award Winner; 2010 Central District Outstanding Educator; National Milken Educators of Hawaii president
  • Kitty Yannone, Chief Executive Officer at CommPac; Former director at Hawaii Technology Institute